

National Convention Benefits Protection Team Seminar July 30, 2021



Joy Ilem National Legislative Director jilem@dav.org



Shane Liermann Deputy National Legislative Director <u>sliermann@dav.org</u> Benefits



Jeremy Villanueva Assistant National Legislative Director jvillanueva@dav.org Benefits



Marquis Barefield Assistant National Legislative Director mbarefield@day.org Health Care



Ashleigh Byrnes Deputy National Director Communications abyrnes@dav.org Health Care



Anthony Lewis Associate National Legislative Director <u>alewis@dav.org</u>

DAV National Legislative Staff

Lisa Bogle Senior Legislative Support Specialist <u>Ibogle@dav.org</u> Jeannette King Legislative Advocacy Support Specialist jking@dav.org

National Service & Legislative Headquarters 807 Maine Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20024 (202) 554-3501



NATIONAL LEGISLATIVE INTERIM COMMITTEE 2020-2021



Al Labelle Department of Wisconsin, Chairman



Jim Procunier

Department of North Carolina



Trent Dilks Department of Minnesota



Coleman Nee Department of Massachusetts



NEW ADMINISTRATION NEW VA LEADERSHIP



VA Secretary Denis McDonough confirmed on February 2, 2021



II7TH CONGRESS

Senate Veterans' Affairs Committee

Chairman: Jon Tester (D-MT) Ranking Member: Jerry Moran (R-KS)





House Veterans' Affairs Committee

Chairman: Mark Takano (D-CA) Ranking Member: Mike Bost (R-IL)





SENATE VETERANS' AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Majority (Democrats) Members

- Sen. Jon Tester (MT) Chairman
- Sen. Patty Murray (WA)
- Sen. Bernie Sanders (VT)
- Sen. Sherrod Brown (OH)
- Sen. Richard Blumenthal (CT)
- Sen. Mazie K. Hirono (HI)
- Sen. Joe Manchin III. (WV)
- Sen. Kyrsten Sinema (AZ)
- Sen. Maggie Hassan (NH)

Minority (Republican) Members

- Jerry Moran (KS)
- Boozman, John (AR)
- Cassidy, Bill (LA)
- Rounds, Mike (SD)
- Tillis, Thom (NC)
- Sullivan, Dan (AK)
- Blackburn, Marsha (TN)
- Cramer, Kevin (ND)
- Tuberville, Tommy (AL)



HOUSE VETERANS' AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Majority (Democrats) Members

Rep. Mark Takano (CA-41) Chairman

- Rep. Colin Allred (D-TX-32)
- Rep.Anthony Brown (D-MD-4)
- Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA-26)
- Rep. Lois Frankel (D-FL-21)
- Rep. Ruben Gallego (D-AZ-7)
- Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH-9)
- Rep. Conor Lamb (D-PA-17)
- Rep. Mike Levin (D-CA-49)

- Rep. Elaine Luria (D-VA-2)
- Rep. Frank Mrvan (D-IN-I)
- Rep. Chris Pappas (D-NH-I)
- Rep. Raul Ruiz (D-CA-36)
- Del. Gregorio "Kilili" Sablan (D-MP-I)
- Rep. Elissa Slotkin (D-MI-8)
- Rep. David Trone (D-MD-6)
- Rep. Lauren Underwood (D-IL-14)



HOUSE VETERANS' AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Minority (Republican) Members

Rep. Mike Bost (R-IL-12) Ranking Member

- Rep. Jim Banks (R-IN-3)
- Rep. Jack Bergman (R-MI-1)
- Rep. Madison Cawthorn (R-NC-11)
- Rep. Nancy Mace (R-SC-1)
- Rep.Tracey Mann (R-KS-I)
- Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-IA-2)

- Rep. Barry Moore (R-AL-2)
- Rep. Gregory "Greg" Murphy (R-NC-3)
- Rep.Troy Nehls (R-TX-22)
- Del. Amata "Aumua Amata" Radewagen (R-AS-1)
- Rep. Matt Rosendale (R-MT-I)
- Rep. Chip Roy (R-TX-21)



UPDATE ON CRITICAL POLICY GOALS 117TH CONGRESS

- Ensure Veterans Who Were Exposed to Toxic Substances Receive Full and Timely Benefits
- Protecting Veterans in the Claims and Appeals Process
- Improve and Expand Survivor Benefits
- Ensure Equity in Health Services and Benefits for Women Veterans and other Minority and Under-Served Veteran Populations
- Improve Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Services for Veterans
- Building a Veterans Health Care System for the Future



VA BUDGET UPDATE FY 2022



Independent Budget Policy Agenda for the 117th Congress and IB Budget Recommendations for FY 2022 <u>www.independentbudget.org</u>



DAV SERVICE AND LEGISLATIVE SEMINAR SATURDAY JULY 31, 2021



Mr. Michael Frueh Principal Deputy Under Secretary for Benefits Veterans Benefits Administration



Dr. Carolyn Clancy

Assistant Under Secretary for Health for Discovery, Education and Affiliate Networks, Veterans Health Administration



Please arrive by 1:45 pm



JOY J. ILEM NATIONAL LEGISLATIVE DIRECTOR

(202) 554-3501 jilem@dav.org